Biaggi crowned 2012 Superbike World Champion

Posted: 08 Oct 2012

In one of the closest-ever Superbike World Championships to date, Max Biaggi has clinched the title at the final round of the series at Magny Cours by just 0.5 points from second place man Tom Sykes. The Italian rider crashed out of the first race of the day, meaning the top spot was still undecided ahead of race two, but Biaggi’s fifth place finish in the final WSB race of the year was just enough to seal the deal for him.

Race one, which took place in damp conditions, was won by Sylvan Guintoli – a huge confidence boost for the French rider in front of his home fans – while BMW’s Marco Melandri clinched second place. Sykes’ third place finish became even more significant for the British rider when series leader Biaggi crashed out of the race on lap two, as he was able to close the points gap to just 14.5 ahead of the second race.

In race two, Sykes rode magnificently to scoop the top step of the podium, but the maximum awarded 25 points wasn’t enough to deny fifth place finisher Biaggi the WSB title. Meanwhile, Ulsterman Jonathan Rea claimed second place while race one victor Guintoli took the third step of the podium.

Race one result

1. Sylvain Guintoli
2. Marco Melandri
3. Tom Sykes
4. Maxime Berger
5. Leon Haslam
6. Ayrton Badovini
7. Eugene Laverty
8. Davide Giugliano
9. Claudio Corti
10. Loris Baz

Race two result

1. Tom Sykes
2. Jonathan Rea
3. Sylvain Guintoli
4. Eugene Laverty
5. Max Biaggi
6. Davide Giugliano
7. Carlos Checa
8. Chaz Davies
9. Ayrton Badovini
10. Leon Camier

2012 Superbike World Championship standings

1. Max Biaggi, Aprilia Racing 358
2. Tom Sykes, Kawasaki Racing 357.5
3. Marco Melandri, BMW Motorrad 328.5
4. Carlos Checa, Althea Ducati 287.5
5. Jonathan Rea, Honda WSBK 278.5
6. Eugene Laverty, Aprilia Racing 263.5
7. Sylvain Guintoli, Effenbert Liberty Ducati/PATA Ducati 213.5
8. Leon Haslam, BMW Motorrad 200
9. Chaz Davies, ParkinGO MTC Aprilia 164.5
10. Davide Giugliano, Althea Ducati 143

Latest Racing News
  • BikeSocial have a signed copy of Seeing Red’s stunning 2019 Bennetts BSB season review. Here’s how to get your name in the hat…
    WIN a BSB season review book - signed by Scott Redding!
  • 23-time TT winner, John McGuinness, returns to the road racing scene for 2020 on the Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki
    McGuinness confirms Kawasaki Isle of Man TT ride
  • GALLERY – RST Superbike Race 1 (2019)
    CONFIRMED - TT Qualifying & Race schedule 2020
  • James Hillier to ride for OMG Racing in 2020 | TT & NW200
    James Hillier to ride for OMG Racing in 2020 | TT & NW200